5 Oct 2022



Long out of print Studio One album resurfaces, killer tune after tune with the Jackie Mittoo led Soul Bros, circa 1966. On fire!!!

*Studio One Studio Backing Band* from Jamaica.
In August 1965, barely a week after the demise of the original Skatalites, The Soul Brothers (featuring ex-Skatalites members Jackie Mittoo, Roland Alphonso, Johnny Moore and Lloyd Brevitt) were up and running as the new house band at Studio One. Other members in this group included Wallin Cameron (guitar) and Bunny Williams (drums). This release could just as easily have been called Rolando Alphonso and The Soul Brothers or just The Soul Brothers as the group were essentially a collective, releasing material under their own name or under a nominal leader (usually Jackie Mittoo or Rolando Alphonso). The group line-up changed over time with Bobby Ellis (trumpet), Bryan Atkinson (bass), Dennis Campbell (Sax), Harry Haughton (guitarist) and Joe Isaacs (drummer) replacing various members alongside the ever present Jackie Mittoo. The Soul Brothers mix of musical styles is described as Ska, Jump-Up and Soul sounds. The track "Last Train to Skaville" signalled the end of the Ska era, as the Soul Brothers started to forge a new sound that by 1967 had become known as Rocksteady, a slowed down funky version of Ska. The main difference between the sound of The Skatalites and The Soul Brothers is the arrival of electric instrumentation such as Jackie's organ as well as electric guitar on some tracks. In 1967 Clement Dodd decided to take a group of musicians to England. Alongside the singers Alton Ellis and Ken Boothe, he asked Roland Alphonso, Jackie Mittoo, Johnny Moore, Lloyd Brevett, Bunny Williams and Errol Walters. This group would be named The Soul Vendors and signalled the end of the short-lived Soul Brothers. (Souljazz Records)

The Soul Bros. / The Soul Vendors – Hot Shot: Ska Jump Up & Soul Instrumentals

'Studio One CD with 15 tracks. As well as Shanty Town and Batta Seya, Keep Cool and Ringo Rock are added to the original track listing. The vocal on Keep Cool is by Joe Higgs (previously released on a Studio One single as Cool Fool).

The Soul Brothers on this release were Bobby Ellis (Trumpet & Leader of Band), Jackie Mittoo (Piano & Organ), Bryan Atkinson (Bass), Dennis Campbell (Tenor Saxophone), Harry Haughton (Guitar) and Joe Isaacs (Drums). The sleeve notes promise the 'New Instrumental Sound of the Caribbean - Ska, Jump-Up and Soul Sounds', and who could ask for anything better?'

Label: Studio One – SOCD 0112
Format: CD
Released: 1967 / 2011
Genre: Rock, Reggae, Funk / Soul
Style: Ska, Soul

1. Lawman 3:11
2. Fiddler on the Roof 2:32
3. Something Else 2:44
4. P. Cafe 2:11
5. Wakie Wakie 3:01
6. Instant Jerk 3:33
7. Early Bird 2:48
8. Batta Seya 2:28
9. Sound Pressure 3:00
10. Hot Shot 2:45
11. Sugar Cane 2:58
12. More & More 2:54
13. Shanty Town 3:41
14. Keep Cool 2:59
        Written-By – J. Higgs
15. Ringo Rock 3:06

Bass – Bryan Atkinson
Drums – Joe Isaacs
Guitar – Harry Haughton
Piano, Organ – Jackie Mittoo
Producer, Liner Notes – C.S. Dodd
Tenor Saxophone – Dennis Campbell
Trumpet – Bobby Ellis